Home     Our Mission     History & Officers     Board of Directors     Selection Committee
The Albany High School State AAA Championship
December 11, 1959 - Albany-20, Marietta-0

Robert Creel

Marshall Tanner
This year the Albany Indians were fortunate to place two members of an outstanding squad on several All-State teams. Center, Robert Creel and halfback Marshall Tanner were nearly unanimous choices in everybody's mind. Their inspiring efforts in every game brought forth cheers and applause from every Albanian. In addition to being chosen on several high-school All-Americas, both boys were named to the Associated Press All-South team. In gold on top of more gold the two were honored at the Albany Touchdown Club's Annual Jamboree as Best Blocker and Most Valuable Player respectively.

The cheerleaders who helped support the Albany High
School football team all the way to the State Championship were Cookie Rifkin, Billle Dykes, Marle Middleton, Nancy Wakeford, Nancy Arthur, Jeanie Cross, Tappie Hambrick, Lila Shefield and Dottie Bunch.

The 1959 Albany High School Championship team was made up of Jerry Gerst; Tommy Ross, Marshall Tanner, Jerry Doyal, Bud Lewis, Terry Cullom, Marion Cartwright; Eddie Ogletree, AI Hutchinson, Jimny Norris, Boyd White, George Hasty, Bill Sutton, Dan Whitman, E.G. Beckwith, Marttin York, Larry Poppell, Vic Dobner, Jack Brice, David Martin, Mike Lane, Rjchard Rhodes, Vernie Musgrove, Johnny Palmer, Butch Fain, Stanley Harp, Frank Morris, Charles Mltchell, Cantey Davis, Richard Creel, Jimmy-Folmar, Robert Yielding, Bubba Arnold, Jimmy Preyatte, Robert Creel, Jack Andres,Biii Wrlght and Guy Davis. John Titlitski was the head coach supported by Pat Field, backfield; Bob Fowler, line; Wayne HoIIoman, Tom Hamilton and Archie Smith, managers.
Albany Sports Hall of Fame - P.O. Box 72203 Albany, Georgia 31708-2203